High pitch whine

A forum for discussing the Vypyr series amplifiers, Sanpera footswitches and share settings
Post Reply
WildmanMcgee
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2018 3:53 pm

High pitch whine

Post by WildmanMcgee » Tue Mar 26, 2019 11:29 am

I've noticed a quite high pitch whine on every patch on my vypro. It goes away when the tuner is activated or when I turn the power sponge below 40. Master volume doesnt effect it nor does gain. It's fairly quite and I dont notice it while playing. Anyone else run into this or found a fix?

WildmanMcgee
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2018 3:53 pm

Re: High pitch whine

Post by WildmanMcgee » Tue Mar 26, 2019 6:54 pm

It was a cable in the effects loop. I replaced the cable and the noise went away. I have an rp360xp I got dirt cheap that I keep in the effects loop for post eq and some modulation effects.

User avatar
j_fury68
Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 1:30 pm

Re: High pitch whine

Post by j_fury68 » Fri May 31, 2019 6:53 pm

I run an effects processor in the loop of my pro as well. Old Zoom G5. I love the combination of my amp tones and some of the effects on the G5. However, I have definitely had some digital whine with this combination. Some was due to the G5 and the other was a dirty power sponge pot. The G5 whine is kind of a slow siren with the pitch cycling high then low and repeating. This was solved by using a noise gate on the G5. It's still there, but not noticed with guitar input and covered up by the gate when not getting fed. The dirty pot was an easy fix with some De-Oxit. Now I seem to be having trouble with some high pitch frequencies when I let a palm muted note die out on the lower E string with a good bit of gain going on. This may be due to having too much bass dialed in for the gain on particular settings. It is definitely the amp, as it does this with nothing in the loop. It would be a shame to dial the bass back because it sounds so good otherwise. Anywho, Was the whine you had going on more like a constant whine or the siren whine I get with my G5?
:arrow: Peavey HP Special FT in Blue Moon Burst, Vypyr 30 with Effects Loop, Zoom G5, Vypyr Pro 100.

WildmanMcgee
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2018 3:53 pm

Re: High pitch whine

Post by WildmanMcgee » Mon Jun 03, 2019 8:31 am

It was a constant whine since replacing the cable I've not had anymore issues. Now if I could only get usb recording from the amp to pick up the effects loop I'd be set.

User avatar
j_fury68
Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 1:30 pm

Re: High pitch whine

Post by j_fury68 » Mon Jun 10, 2019 3:18 pm

WildmanMcgee wrote:
Mon Jun 03, 2019 8:31 am
It was a constant whine since replacing the cable I've not had anymore issues. Now if I could only get usb recording from the amp to pick up the effects loop I'd be set.
Won't happen. The USB and head phones are before the signal path reaches the effects loop. This stinks, but it is a reality I am embracing. All hope is not lost however, as the MSDI out is after the loop and effects in your loop are indeed heard there...and it sounds pretty good! Now on to the next problem...stereo effects. Sigh. I need another pro to send my stereo signal to and then MSDI to a USB interface. Can someone say "over complicated" :wink:
:arrow: Peavey HP Special FT in Blue Moon Burst, Vypyr 30 with Effects Loop, Zoom G5, Vypyr Pro 100.

User avatar
j_fury68
Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 1:30 pm

Re: High pitch whine

Post by j_fury68 » Mon Jun 10, 2019 3:21 pm

BTW, the other high pitch noise I was trying to figure out ended up being associated with the electrical outlet in my house I was using. Switched outlets and all better.
:arrow: Peavey HP Special FT in Blue Moon Burst, Vypyr 30 with Effects Loop, Zoom G5, Vypyr Pro 100.

Post Reply