Vypyr and VIP with effects loop mod

A forum for discussing the Vypyr series amplifiers, Sanpera footswitches and share settings
Post Reply
User avatar
j_fury68
Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 1:30 pm

Vypyr and VIP with effects loop mod

Post by j_fury68 » Thu Jun 27, 2013 4:07 am

I recently modded my Vypyr tube 60 and a friends vypyr 15 with an effects loop mod. Wondering if any here is interested. Here is a video of the end result. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bvIi-FwwUpE
Last edited by j_fury68 on Tue Nov 12, 2013 9:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
:arrow: Peavey HP Special FT in Blue Moon Burst, Vypyr 30 with Effects Loop, Zoom G5, Vypyr Pro 100.

jackstrat
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 5:54 pm

Re: Vypyr with effects loop mod, anyone interested?

Post by jackstrat » Thu Jun 27, 2013 7:36 am

Very cool...need that for my VIP 3...

Jspencer
Member
Posts: 343
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 8:33 am

Re: Vypyr with effects loop mod, anyone interested?

Post by Jspencer » Thu Jun 27, 2013 10:21 am

I like that. :D
Guitars: Fender Tele and Strat, Ibanez ES 53, Epiphone Joe Pass, Junior and Casino, Traveler Escape and C1, Lag, Ovation and Hermida acoustics. Basses: 1983 Squier Precision bass and Precision/Tele bass

Sparkopath
Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 12:37 am

Re: Vypyr with effects loop mod, anyone interested?

Post by Sparkopath » Thu Jun 27, 2013 2:58 pm

That's really cool! I wonder why they didn't do something like that in the first place.

I would be curious to see the instructions on how to do that. I don't think I want to do it to my brand new VIP2, but maybe at some point I'll pick up another amp to mod.

What I really want in my VIP2 are line out ports that don't cut out the sound on the amp.

User avatar
j_fury68
Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 1:30 pm

Re: Vypyr with effects loop mod, anyone interested?

Post by j_fury68 » Thu Jun 27, 2013 3:14 pm

Sparkopath wrote:That's really cool! I wonder why they didn't do something like that in the first place.

I would be curious to see the instructions on how to do that. I don't think I want to do it to my brand new VIP2, but maybe at some point I'll pick up another amp to mod.

What I really want in my VIP2 are line out ports that don't cut out the sound on the amp.
Yeah, I need to work something up, probably a schematic and possibly a video showing steps and precautions. I will need to pic up another to mod to shoot a step by step video. I am sure this and the mod you spoke of can be done to the new vip stuff as well. Just have to wait on that old warrantee to expire or else get really brave!
:arrow: Peavey HP Special FT in Blue Moon Burst, Vypyr 30 with Effects Loop, Zoom G5, Vypyr Pro 100.

jdalf
Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:17 am
Location: Jackson.MS

Re: Vypyr with effects loop mod, anyone interested?

Post by jdalf » Fri Jun 28, 2013 6:46 am

I'm interested, tell us more!

odd, I havent been able to get that video to run, tried several times
My head's in Mississippi

Peavey's: Generation Standard,Limited EXP ST, Falcon Custom,Vypyr 30, VIP 40

Tony_Lopez
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 5:26 pm
Location: Tucson AZ
Contact:

Re: Vypyr with effects loop mod, anyone interested?

Post by Tony_Lopez » Fri Jun 28, 2013 12:09 pm

Fury,

Please take some pictures and get a draft going of a how to article. I and others here will surely be grateful. I'm almost more interested in this to correct the 'fizz' issue more than the loop.

Thanks for contributing.

Tony

User avatar
j_fury68
Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 1:30 pm

Re: Vypyr with effects loop mod, anyone interested?

Post by j_fury68 » Fri Jun 28, 2013 2:40 pm

jdalf wrote:I'm interested, tell us more!

odd, I havent been able to get that video to run, tried several times
Try going straight to you tube and searching "Vypyr unleashed, effects loop mod"
:arrow: Peavey HP Special FT in Blue Moon Burst, Vypyr 30 with Effects Loop, Zoom G5, Vypyr Pro 100.

User avatar
j_fury68
Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 1:30 pm

Re: Vypyr with effects loop mod, anyone interested?

Post by j_fury68 » Fri Jun 28, 2013 3:22 pm

Tony_Lopez wrote:Fury,

Please take some pictures and get a draft going of a how to article. I and others here will surely be grateful. I'm almost more interested in this to correct the 'fizz' issue more than the loop.

Thanks for contributing.

Tony
Alright Tony, It will take me awhile to get good pics and documentation together for the full mod plus tips and tricks to make life easier (got three kids that keep me very busy!). However, to get you started and get this fizz thing under control you need to locate Resistor 82 on the dsp board. This is a surface mount, tiny little thing. I have come across two style of boards, one with a shroud over the processor and one with out. R82 on the shrouded is opposite end of the board to the master volume plug in and on top by the edge of the board. The non-shrouded board has it located on bottom close to the volume plug, kind of toward the middle of the board. Remove it carefully (if you haven't de-soldered or removed this kind of thing please wait for more information) you can damage the board. Next solder in two leads and connect those to a 50k pot and dial away the noise on a clean channel of your amp by adding resistance.
:arrow: Peavey HP Special FT in Blue Moon Burst, Vypyr 30 with Effects Loop, Zoom G5, Vypyr Pro 100.

jdalf
Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:17 am
Location: Jackson.MS

Re: Vypyr with effects loop mod, anyone interested?

Post by jdalf » Sat Jun 29, 2013 7:08 am

j_fury68 wrote:
jdalf wrote:I'm interested, tell us more!

odd, I havent been able to get that video to run, tried several times
Try going straight to you tube and searching "Vypyr unleashed, effects loop mod"
watched it this morning, sounds great, I'd like to try this and put my hd500 in the loop

break it down for us when you are able ,I've always wanted a loop on these, you are da man! thanks

would be cool to have an eq or separate noise gate in the loop
My head's in Mississippi

Peavey's: Generation Standard,Limited EXP ST, Falcon Custom,Vypyr 30, VIP 40

User avatar
j_fury68
Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 1:30 pm

Re: Vypyr with effects loop mod, anyone interested?

Post by j_fury68 » Sat Jun 29, 2013 2:08 pm

jdalf wrote:
j_fury68 wrote:
jdalf wrote:I'm interested, tell us more!

odd, I havent been able to get that video to run, tried several times
Try going straight to you tube and searching "Vypyr unleashed, effects loop mod"
watched it this morning, sounds great, I'd like to try this and put my hd500 in the loop

break it down for us when you are able ,I've always wanted a loop on these, you are da man! thanks

would be cool to have an eq or separate noise gate in the loop
I suspect the hd500 will do well here. I will caution you when using a vypyr 15, that to much low end signal is hard for the 8" speaker to handle. I ran the moded 15 through the effects loop of a 30 watt Behringer Vintager and it sounded great. It had a 10" Jensen. I will try to get something on paper tonight for the mod. All I have right now are chicken scratches.
:arrow: Peavey HP Special FT in Blue Moon Burst, Vypyr 30 with Effects Loop, Zoom G5, Vypyr Pro 100.

User avatar
j_fury68
Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 1:30 pm

Re: Vypyr with effects loop mod, anyone interested?

Post by j_fury68 » Mon Jul 01, 2013 5:42 pm

Just an update. I have most of the mod written and will be taking some pics soon. Hopefully have it by this weekend.
:arrow: Peavey HP Special FT in Blue Moon Burst, Vypyr 30 with Effects Loop, Zoom G5, Vypyr Pro 100.

jdalf
Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:17 am
Location: Jackson.MS

Re: Vypyr with effects loop mod, anyone interested?

Post by jdalf » Tue Jul 02, 2013 6:34 am

I took the dsp board off my vyp 30, man those are some te-incy resistors on the back side, gonna have to limit the coffee the day I desolder those babies :lol:
My head's in Mississippi

Peavey's: Generation Standard,Limited EXP ST, Falcon Custom,Vypyr 30, VIP 40

Tony_Lopez
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 5:26 pm
Location: Tucson AZ
Contact:

Re: Vypyr with effects loop mod, anyone interested?

Post by Tony_Lopez » Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:24 pm

Fury,

Thanks for taking the time. I'll be taking my Tube 60 apart this weekend in prep for this. I'll also be making a T60 head out of the combo so I'll tackle both at once if I can.

I'll also take pictures as I go and see if I can add them to your write up for others to have as reference material.


Tony

User avatar
j_fury68
Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 1:30 pm

Re: Vypyr with effects loop mod, anyone interested?

Post by j_fury68 » Tue Jul 02, 2013 5:13 pm

jdalf wrote:I took the dsp board off my vyp 30, man those are some te-incy resistors on the back side, gonna have to limit the coffee the day I desolder those babies :lol:
Do some meditation as well and all will be fine :|
:arrow: Peavey HP Special FT in Blue Moon Burst, Vypyr 30 with Effects Loop, Zoom G5, Vypyr Pro 100.

Post Reply