Help with setting up FX2 16

This forum is for talking about all types of Peavey mixers.
Modal_Tiger

Help with setting up FX2 16

Post by Modal_Tiger » Thu Nov 19, 2020 8:52 pm

Hello, I bought a fx2 16 channel recently to build my very first home studio. I am very new to mixers and I would very appreciate any help. This will likely be very detailed lengthy as I don't know where I am going wrong with this setup and am desperate to get it to work, so apologies.

I plan on using the usb to computer option of recording and so far all my equipment works except I am having trouble getting the mixer to work. I have it in computer mode, my pc (hp desktop m01-f1014, running windows 10) detects the device both as a microphone and speakers but I can't get any audio to and from. I have tried with my microphone (shure 57) in the first xlr channel and it reads perfectly on the main levels but I can't get any sound on the computer. I have also tried playing audio back from my computer (through 2 krk classic 5's connected to the main balanced XLR outs of the mixer, and headphones plugged directly in the computer. Again, the computer reads the devices are there, but my microphone doesn't work at all during any tests and I can't get any sound out. I have tested the krk 5's and they both work fine when plugged directly into the computer as well as in an audio interface (presonus usb 96, which I don't plan on using in my setup, I am just using it to test my equipment, which all works fine with the 96.) I am using ableton live 10 lite as a DAW, which works fine with the audio interface and equipment I'm using.