CS800s Amplifier Power Module Died

This forum is for talking about all kinds of Peavey power amplifiers.
FreeFallin

CS800s Amplifier Power Module Died

Post by FreeFallin » Wed Sep 09, 2020 8:49 am

Hi All,

Short Version: The amp died, no signs of life. I found the .160 amp slow blow fuse (F2) blown in the power module. I can replace it, but is that likely the problem, or a symptom of something else?

More details:
I have a Peavey CS800s power amp that I bought new 20 years ago for mobile DJ use, it was used regularly for a few years and then once or twice a year until a few years ago when it died. I love this amp, I have basic experience with electronics and soldering, help me save it.

Problem:
Turn on the power - nothing, no clicks, no hum, no lights, no buzz, no boom boom

What I have tested so far:
Opened the amp and pulled out the power module, tested the push button fuse on the back and the power switch on the front of the case, both work.
Testing the power plug on the back of the module I noticed the hot and common prongs have almost no resistance between them (is this normal?)
With the power module plugged in, the push button fuse bypassed, and the power switch connected, I am getting 0 volts from any of the prongs that feed the other boards in the amp. There is no power leaving the secondary board.
I started testing components that can be tested and found a blown fuse F2 .160ASB (see picture).
Peavey CS800s Fuse.jpg
Peavey CS800s Fuse.jpg (395.51 KiB) Viewed 2832 times
Questions:
Should I replace the fuse and test again or is there likely something else that made the fuse blow?
Is it safe to bypass that fuse for testing?
What else would you test, and how?
Is the fuse something you would order from Peavey, or a component supplier?

Any help is appreciated.

FreeFallin

Re: CS800s Amplifier Power Module Died

Post by FreeFallin » Thu Sep 10, 2020 2:39 pm

Update: I ordered a couple of fuses from Mouser -