What kind of amp for Peavey PV 118 Single 18" Subwoofer

This forum is for talking about all kinds of Peavey power amplifiers.
zildjian2003

What kind of amp for Peavey PV 118 Single 18" Subwoofer

Post by zildjian2003 » Thu Dec 30, 2010 4:20 pm

Hey guys,

Im looking at getting 2 of these Peavey PV 118 Single 18" Subwoofers and was wondering if someone could tell me a good cheap amp to use to push these things. Im a drummer and I'm looking for some subs for micing my bass drums.

Heres the specs on each sub...
Peavey PV 118 Single 18" Subwoofer Features:

Vented bass subwoofer enclosure
Pro Eighteen 18" premium woofer
Optimized internal low-pass crossover network
Polemount
400W program power handling
40Hz-180Hz (±3 dB)
95dB at 1W/1m
8 ohms

http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/pr ... sku=601342

Thanks for the help guys!

SemperFiSound

Re: What kind of amp for Peavey PV 118 Single 18" Subwoofer

Post by SemperFiSound » Thu Dec 30, 2010 5:07 pm

z2003,
Welcome to the forums, where, if you aren't careful, you just may learn something before it's all over.

First some homework readings:
http://www.peavey.com/support/technotes ... _POWER.pdf
http://www.peavey.com/support/technotes ... damage.cfm

Please peruse those - not too carefully, as I do not want your brain to explode - and then when I recommend an amp that is 65% to 85% of the speaker's program power rating you will understand the why behind the recommendation. You may also glean that you might mean an "inexpensive" amplifier as opposed to a "cheap" amplifier.

260w to 340w is the range you are shooting for.
The IPR-1600 at 300w/8 ohms per side would be a great pairing and at 7lbs, it won't kill you and at $289 or so, it is pretty darn inexpensive.