Scorpion Voice Coil Open

This forum is for discussions on all kinds of Peavey speakers and enclosures.
Post Reply
jspina911
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2020 11:34 am

Scorpion Voice Coil Open

Post by jspina911 » Tue Mar 24, 2020 7:49 pm

Hi all...recently got a Classic VTX pretty cheap and had to replace 1 of the original Scorpion speakers that was dead...The voice coil is dead in it and so I did get a replacement Scorpion for it.

My question is: Without buying a basket,have any of you successfully replaced a voice coil in these speakers? I notice Reverb sells the voice coils but I wonder how tough it is to replace a voice coil in these?

I now have this dead speaker/magnet here,I'm handy and wonder if it's possible to fix this dead one?

Stryker57
Member
Posts: 912
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 9:39 am
Location: Cincinnati,Ohio

Re: Scorpion Voice Coil Open

Post by Stryker57 » Sun Mar 29, 2020 5:44 pm

i might be mistaken but when you buy a basket does not the voice coil come with it?
and you only used the magnet of the old scorpion. .

at least thats how i always used to do it..

User avatar
Wooferhound
Member
Posts: 1224
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 11:02 pm
Location: Huntsville Alabama USA
Contact:

Re: Scorpion Voice Coil Open

Post by Wooferhound » Tue May 19, 2020 5:08 pm

Check the speaker closely . . .
Are the bare wires going from the terminal strip to the cone still solidly connected
Can you get a good reading measuring the voice coil it's self, tab yo tab
is the airgap in the magnet completely clean
When assembled does it move freely in the gap

If there is a problem with the voice coil, a basket will fix it fine

User avatar
Enzo
Member
Posts: 8858
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 10:24 pm
Location: Lansing, Michigan

Re: Scorpion Voice Coil Open

Post by Enzo » Tue May 19, 2020 11:52 pm

Replacing a voice coil would be like reconing a speaker. As long as I have known Scorpions, they are repaired by replacing the basket. Basket is coil, cone, and frame all in one. If someone sells voice coils alone, they wouldn't be factory. And you'd need reconing skills and supplies to install them.

Post Reply