MiniMax No signal to speakers

This forum is for discussions on all kinds of Peavey bass amplifiers.
Chastao

MiniMax No signal to speakers

Post by Chastao » Wed Jul 01, 2020 12:02 pm

Hello, (thought I already wrote this???)

I have a Peavy MiniMax 500W head that I have only used 2 times as a backup (that's what I bought it for). It is basically brand new.

When I went to use it the third time (after it had sat for 6 months) there is no signal going to the speakers.

The fan works and I can hear the bass through the headphone output. I tried several known-good speaker wires of all types (speakon, 1/4 phone ...)

nothing works ... have also tried pushing every button ...

Any ideas?

Thanks,
-Charlie

Enzo

Re: MiniMax No signal to speakers

Post by Enzo » Wed Jul 01, 2020 9:35 pm

SO you have not used it a lot? ANy chance you pushed the MUTE button and don't realize it?

I mean it, I am a tech with years of experience, and I once spent an hour trying to find why a MArshall amp made no sound, only to find it had a MUTE button I didn't know about.

Chastao

Post by Chastao » Thu Jul 02, 2020 3:50 pm

I'm not above doing something like that ( e.g. is it plugged in?) That was my thought too ... it has to be something simple (and maybe stupid) ... but so far no answers

... Answer: No, I tried cycling every button on the amp including mute... heard differences through the phones, but still no signal to the speakers. Thought maybe someone here might have run into the same issue. Next step will be to take it to the repair shop. Should have rung it out more when I first got it ... now it's a year and a half old and it only worked twice ... feels like Peavy should step up and fix it.

Haven't had good luck with amps ... I got it because my MarkBass head needed repair and I got sick of lugging my GK 800RB to gigs. Didn't trust the MarkBass any more so I was looking for a small powerhouse as a backup.

-Charlie

Enzo

Post by Enzo » Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:34 pm