ValveKing Blowing Fuses

This forum is for talking about all kinds of Peavey guitar amplifiers.
johnny be good

ValveKing Blowing Fuses

Post by johnny be good » Fri Jan 21, 2022 12:40 pm

Hello all. I am a novice trying to learn some trouble shooting tips on tube[valve] amp repairs. I have read Dave Hunter"s Guitar Tube Amp circuits and signals.
I do know the basics and DANGERS of filter caps I play around wit ham amps. I own a VK100 head and a VK 212 100w. and I saw an add for a Non working amp it was a VK 212 so I figured great learning project and if nothing else it has all new tubes pre and power 2 decent VK speakers and transformers.
Owner says that a shop put in all new tubes he played it a couple months put it away for a few years took it out and would not turn on so he let it go cheap. I first noticed the exterior fuse holder was not holding the fuse in tight so I got a direct replacement and thought to easy so I saw internal fuse had blown F203 T3A replaced it temporarily and it blew soon as amp turned on. looking at the board looks like the first four diodes may have gotten hot and marked the board. I left original blown fuse leads on for now but are not shorting to anything like may look like in picture.
So anyway just wonder if anyone has dealt with one of these and the issues some may have before I start removing and testing.Thanks for reading
20220102_112224_Film1.jpg
20220102_112224_Film1.jpg (3.92 MiB) Viewed 3456 times

johnny be good

Re: ValveKing Blowing Fuses

Post by johnny be good » Fri Jan 21, 2022 12:42 pm

Schematic VK 212
peavey_valveking_100_212-1.pdf
(301.41 KiB) Downloaded 137 times
peavey_valveking_100_212-1.pdf
(301.41 KiB) Downloaded 137 times

Enzo

Post by Enzo » Fri Jan 21, 2022 1:55 pm

Does it blow fuses with the power tubes removed?