Peavey Audition 30 Modification

This forum is for talking about all kinds of Peavey guitar amplifiers.
Midwick

Peavey Audition 30 Modification

Post by Midwick » Mon Aug 31, 2020 5:56 pm

I'm creating a "traveling" guitar with an amp in the case, and used a Peavey Audition 30 for the project. I'm working through a series of modifications to the amp head itself and find myself stumped with a particular issue (Which isn't hard - I'm an architect, so I have a pretty rudimentary understanding of electronics and can stumble my way through a schematic, but I'm definitely at the edge of my understanding with some of this)

The modification that is giving me difficulty is taking the existing "Thick" push button effect on the amp head and adding it to the foot switch. I retained the existing "loop" for the effect, but modified the switching so it functions as I want it to (described more below). I tested the circuit connections after I made the change, and they function as they should, connecting and disconnecting in line with the original schematic. When I plug in a guitar, everything works like it should EXCEPT when the pedal is plugged in and the "Thick" button is pushed, the thick effect works whether or not the foot switch is on or off.

There are two push button effects - Saturation and Thick. Saturation was already connected to the foot switch, but I modified it slightly from the original schematic to give each effect independent control. Because Thick has to pass through a specific intersection on the board before going to ground, I had to keep the two feeds separate to and from the foot switch (and swap out to a double pole switch). I rewired the existing push buttons and used shunted jacks so the effects can be toggled on and off independently, with the footswitch working (when it's plugged in) as a global "engage/disengage" switch for either or both when are turned on at the head.