Parts for Peavey VTM Bias Mod

This forum is for talking about all kinds of Peavey guitar amplifiers.
kiometalfan

Parts for Peavey VTM Bias Mod

Post by kiometalfan » Sat Apr 16, 2016 10:45 am

Pretty soon I will be turning in my Peavey VTM 120 for a screen resistor and bias mod. My guitar tech told me that if I could get the parts beforehand, I'll save myself some significant money and the turn around time should be relatively short, so I've been trying to buy everything I need to do these two mods. So far I found where I would buy the resistors for the screen resistor mod. How many of these do I need? Four? Here's the link.

http://www.parts-express.com/470-ohm-5w ... e--015-470

Now I'm aiming to get a 15k limiting resistor and a 50KL pot for the bias mod, but I'm confused about exactly what kind of limiting resistor and 50KL pot I should get. Is there a specific wattage I should be looking for for the resistor? Or a particular size/type of pot? I'm totally new to this type of stuff and all my knowledge so far has been through reading, no hands on experience. If you know anything on this subject, feel free to post a link to the specific part I'd need, that would be greatly appreciated.

Enzo

Re: Parts for Peavey VTM Bias Mod

Post by Enzo » Sat Apr 16, 2016 8:48 pm

Did your guy give you a parts list?

15k resistor? ANy old resistor will do, say a half watt.

A pot of any convenient dimension is fine.

kiometalfan

Post by kiometalfan » Sat Apr 16, 2016 10:01 pm

No he didn't actually. He's a pretty busy guy. Okay well I found all those parts. I think I need one more resistor for the bias mod but I have no idea what the value on it should be. The diagram that the link I provided states that I need a 2k7 resistor? As far as changing the screen resistors in the amp, do I need to buy only one resistor or four?

I'm basically looking at this to figure out what I need.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/3rdof3/se ... 999774416/

Enzo